Buyer & Seller Testimonials

Buyer & Seller Testimonials

 

Client feedback is so important to understanding the benefit of our efforts that we thought we would share some highlights of what people are saying about us with you! It is the only way to truly assess the relevance and importance of our experience and knowledge.

Buyer Testimonials  |  Seller Testimonials

Buyer Testimonials

 

*********

 

"I owe a lot to Kathy and Michael Rain as the real estate agents who helped me to secure my new home. They are honest and energetic. They don’t hesitate to provide you with advice if needed. For any home buyer in Half Moon Area, I will recommend Kathy and Michael without any hesitation." ~Buyer 5/24/2018

*********

"Kathy and Michael were amazing to work with. They showed us many homes and helped us craft an attractive offer and counter-offer (when it was needed). We were so (happily!) surprised when we were able to get the house of our dreams with their help! Kathy's knowledge of the local markets and regions of the various cities we were considering, eye for design, and awareness of the features that drive desirability/price were very helpful as she could talk us through how different homes and layouts might work (or not!) for our family's needs. Michael's knowledge of so many inspection-related concerns ensured that we didn't fall in love with a house that had a big flaw before we had to request disclosures or get a professional inspector out late in the process. Kathy and Michael were also very flexible with their schedule and responsive to our requests. When they (or we) found a house listing that we were interested in, we were often able to see the house that very same day in a private tour - something that is necessary in today's fast moving seller's market. Together, their expertise made us confident in our home purchase. We could not be happier with the Rain team and our new home!"   ~Buyer 9/28/2017

 

*********

We had a fantastic experience working with Kathy and Michael when we purchased our home in 2016. My husband and I were really impressed with their knowledge of the local Half Moon Bay market, and felt really comfortable with our transaction. I looked at several properties with Kathy, and always felt like she gave honest feedback, good or bad, about every property that we visited. She really listened to me when I explained what we were looking for in an ideal home. We were able to find our dream home in under two weeks of searching, and then Kathy guided us every step of the way to make our offer competitive, respectful, and attractive to the seller. I felt like we were in such good hands during the whole process. Michael's input was very valuable as he was on site during our home inspection, and our meeting with the structural engineer. I would highly recommend Kathy and Michael Rain for anyone purchasing or selling a home in Half Moon Bay or any of the neighboring coastal communities. They are total pros, straight shooters, and such nice people. Their priority goes beyond just wanting to make a sale, they are highly invested in their clients and want to ensure that your family is in the right home- BUYER ~ 3/4/2017

*********

Although my husband and I knew we wanted to live on the coast, we didn't understand the best way to find a home we wanted to purchase in this area. Kathy and Michael did an outstanding job of educating us to both short- and long-term key issues pertaining to the current homes on the market we were  considering. Thanks to their expertise and attention to detail, we felt we made a good decision and are really happy we used them to shepherd our purchase. They are consummate professionals with hearts of gold. Both went out of their way to stay in touch and help us understand the process of purchasing a home from start to finish. The way they answered a steady stream of our questions revealed a breadth of knowledge and complete patience with our concerns and interests. All our questions were answered with satisfying and accurate detail! We were very impressed with their approach to understanding us as clients and supporting our personal vision we had regarding our "ideal" home. At the start of our search, we met with them on several occasions and they listened carefully to our description of our needs and desires in a home. This approach saved us a great deal of time, because they did not insist on showing us numerous homes that were not on target, but focused on the type of home we wanted and more specifically on the location. We enthusiastically recommend them for any real estate transaction. They are a class act who are simply the best. ~7/16/2016

*********

Had a great experience with Kathy. We were working with another realtor and the transaction looked very complicated. We got a referral to Kathy from a friend who has purchased two homes through Kathy and Michael. She was able to provide some unique insights into the Pacifica market that meant we ended up dropping that house (it's still on the market now 7 months later). We ended up finding our dream home, and getting it. The market is very competitive and Kathy helped us write an offer that the seller ended up taking over three other offers (and ours was not the highest!). Would definitely work with her again.-Buyer ~2/6/2017

*********

Over the past several months, Kathy and Michael, the Rain Team (with Coldwell Banker), represented us both for the sale of our house in Daly City and the purchase of a home in Moss Beach. We cannot say enough about their professionalism, hard work, genuine concern for us and our family, and the quality of their work. They guided us through every step of what could have been a very stressful process – telling us what to expect along the way. Our house sold in 12 days, and we received a really great price for it. Kathy and Michael then helped us find our dream home on the Coast. This, too, is in no small part due to their years of experience and thorough knowledge of this area and the intricacies of the real estate market. They always had our well being in mind, making sure that the house we bought was right for us and our baby. They made a point of giving us a very honest assessment of every house we looked at so that we could make our decision based on facts and not raw emotion. On a personal level, they were a pleasure to work with and helped us keep a sense of humor and healthy perspective. We highly, highly recommend the Rain Team. ~10/23/2014

*********

One day in 1999 we wandered into an open house, and instead of a salesperson hitting us up with questions, we were serenaded by classical guitar from upstairs. When we found the musician, we found our agents. From the first few minutes, it became clear that the Rains are knowledgeable about the intricacies of real estate like nobody we've ever known. They are friendly, savvy, meticulous and unquestionably the people you want on your side of the negotiations. Michael & Kathy Rain have become the standard by which all our professional interactions are measured, and nobody in any industry has come close. They work with a network of fantastic people, so when you need something, they get you to the people who will make it happen, and make it happen well. They got us into a fabulous house in 1999, helped us sell in 2001, and when we returned to the area in 2014, there was never any question who would get us into the home of our dreams. Thank you Michael & Kathy! - BUYER & SELLER 9/12/2014

*********

When we chose Kathy and Michael as our buyer agents, we were looking all over the peninsula. Luckily, after visiting their office in Half Moon Bay and seeing some other listings on the coast, we fell in love with the idea of buying in a coastal community and are indebted to them not only for  guiding us through every step of the buying process (as first time home buyers without a clue, this was extremely important to us) and for finding us the perfect place (a townhouse in Pacifica, as it turned out) but for turning us on to the coast to begin with. We couldn't be happier with the location and incredible value of coastal living, especially when we saw what our budget could buy us in, for example, San Mateo. Michael gave us the ins and outs of what could go wrong, and made us feel comfortable that he would never let us buy a place with major flaws. Kathy handled our transaction with the seller's agent smoothly. Both were genuinely excited for us when our offer was accepted and treated us like family throughout the whole process. They are extremely knowledgeable about the neighborhoods on the coast and all things real estate. They are also warm and wonderful to work with! ~8/21/2014

*********

Michael and Kathy are exceptional agents! As first-time home buyers, we were looking for agents who would be patient, help us to understand the ins and outs of home buying, and have our best interest in mind throughout. Michael and Kathy did all of those things, and worked tirelessly to help us find not just any suitable home, but the "right" home for us. After almost one year of working with them (and through many emotional highs and lows of trying to buy a home in this market), we have found a home that we love, and are so incredibly grateful for their continued support and knowledge throughout, every step of the way. Michael & Kathy - Thank you, thank you, thank you! ~1/31/14

*********

I can't recommend Kathy & Michael Rain highly enough. They have a commanding knowledge of the coastal real estate from Half Moon Bay to Pacifica, down to knowing the pros and cons of seemingly every street in every coastal community in this region. I particularly appreciated their advice in steering us away from certain areas and certain homes with knowledge that only a very experienced realtor would have. We came to be convinced that they had our best interests at heart, and so we came to rely heavily on their advice. Now, I've dealt with a number of realtors in the past, and when the deal is inked they disappear. But with Kathy and Michael I feel like they are now extended family, and I'm really pleased that we'll be living only a few miles apart and will get to see each other. Living on the coast is a dream come true for us, and if I had to do it over again I would do it exactly the same, as long as it was with them! ~7/6/2013

*********

About 1.5 years ago we started seriously looking into buying our first house and got in touch with Michael and Kathy. Throughout the process, Michael and Kathy have patiently guided us forward, from checking out properties, making a first offer, and finally closing the deal. We could not have asked for more! They are a fantastic team and combine a very friendly and open interaction with an extremely high level of professionalism.

As first-time buyers, and real-estate noobs, we really appreciated their willingness to take the time to go over things and explain the various steps in the process. They have helped every step of the way, from interpreting technical reports, to making a realistic offer and negotiating through. We have always felt we were in excellent hands. Most importantly perhaps, they have helped make this journey into a great experience! Thank you Michael and Kathy! Greatly recommended! ~6/19/2013

*********

Working with the Rain's, you quickly learn how resourceful and knowledgeable they are - the professionalism, expertise and passion displayed by Michael and Kathy during the whole process was impressive and admirable. In speaking with other friends who have gone through the house-hunting/purchasing process, it is clear that The Rain Team stands out among the very best. If you are looking to buy a home along the coast and want someone to walk you through the process with ease, you will not be disappointed with The Rain Team! Our new home is beautiful and as we settle in with our new baby girl, we cannot help but feel immense gratitude for Michael and Kathy's dedication to us in helping us purchase this lovely property.

*********

Kathy and Michael were amazing every step of the way. Being first time home buyers, my wife and I were somewhat intimidated by the process. Kathy and Michael stepped in and took care of everything and made the process extremely smooth. They even worked with us to complete a 3 week close with very tight deadlines. I highly recommend going with them if you are considering a home on the coast.~8/28/2011

*********

Our new home is beautiful and as we settle in with our new baby girl, we cannot help but feel immense gratitude for Michael and Kathy's dedication to us in helping us purchase this lovely property.

*********

It's hard to put our gratitude for Michael and Kathy into words for helping us purchase our first home. We put an offer on a short sale, which turned out to be one of the most complicated processes we've encountered. We had a unique situation to deal with - me being pregnant and going on maternity leave midway through the whole process. But Kathy kept us apprised of each step along the way so we never felt in the dark. She was so responsive to all our queries and concerns. Working with the Rain's, you quickly learn how resourceful and knowledgeable they are - the professionalism, expertise and passion displayed by Michael and Kathy during the whole process was impressive and admirable. In speaking with other friends who have gone through the house-hunting/purchasing process, it is clear that The Rain Team stands out among the very best. If you are looking to buy a home along the coast and want someone to walk you through the process with ease, you will not be disappointed with The Rain Team! Our new home is beautiful and as we settle in with our new baby girl, we cannot help but feel immense gratitude for Michael and Kathy's dedication to us in helping us purchase this lovely property. ~7/8/2011

*********

Dear Kathy and Michael,

Many, many years ago [twelve? thirteen? of, a long time now], you two helped me and my then-husband purchase our first house [on Pullman Avenue in Half Moon Bay]. You were ridiculously patient, very understanding, and went out of your way to make sure that we felt well-represented, even though your office was also representing the seller. You took a convoluted, very overwhelming process and made it manageable, while somehow never making us feel like the green newbies that we were.

Fast forward many years...a lot of water under the bridge in my life, much sadness, some gladness; I got a new life going, recently got married [the name change is still in process :^) ], and we closed on a house in Saratoga in June. That experience has been a less-than-stellar one [it's a long story, but as an example, when discussing the issues with getting the sellers out, we recently had our realtor tell us that he "would be a bull-dog for us if he wasn't representing the seller as well", and that "real estate contracts weren't black and white", so we shouldn't expect the deadlines to be solid]...in the middle of this situation, I keep remembering my amazing experience with the two of you.

I know that receiving a message like this so many years later is rather odd, but I wanted to let you know that you two made a very lasting impression on me back then...you continue to be the standard to which I hold not just real estate agents, but professionals in general. This is only the second time I've purchased a house, so I am now truly seeing just how lucky I was to stumble upon you two as my first agents. While I am learning much from this current situation [I will likely never again use the same agent who is representing the sellers, for instance, and I will be especially wary if I found out the agent is a personal buddy of the seller], I am definitely realizing how fortunate I was not to have to learn those lessons with you...the whole process with you was seamless and as painless as buying a home can be, and I never doubted that you were working hard to represent me as strongly as you could.

So thank you from a buyer whose hand you held more than a decade ago...professionals like you are rare, and I was fortunate to have worked with you.

All the best --

*********

It was a pleasure working with Kathy & Michael as they really go the extra mile for their clients. I would highly recommend working with them if you need to buy or sell a home. BUYER & SELLER 7/4/2013

*********

This is my 6th transaction with Kathy and Michael Rain - buys and sell transactions. As always they are responsive, professional, innovative, problem solvers, and very thorough. They ensure that my rights and needs are protected and addressed. They work with me and the opposite party to ensure that the deal is done smoothly and everyone walks away with what they need. Their knowledge of the coast side is unsurpassed. In all their years on the coast side, it is most probable that they have been in nearly every property on the coast and know its pros and cons. They listen!!!! They act to fulfill my agenda, keep me informed timely, and give me information for me to make decisions. Service of the highest and best quality. ~5/22/2013

*********

Michael and Kathy represented us in the purchase of a unit at the Shelter Creek complex in San Bruno in May 2013. They were professional and diligent, very responsive, and very thorough in following through on every item / issue that came up. They were also genuinely concerned for our welfare during this process, and made some good / helpful suggestions to guide our decision-making, including their recommendation of Shelter Creek for us, vs. other possible condo complexes. Kathy and Michael negotiated effectively with the seller, and worked hard to ensure a smooth and timely purchase. ~5/7/2013

*********

After one full year of disappointment and despair, my wife and I were very ready to give up on trying to buy a home in the San Francisco area. We had worked with 9 different agents, looked at and bid on dozens and dozens of homes only to get beat to the offer or outbid every time. Kathy and Michael Rain displayed amazing patience with us first time buyers while showing us home after home perfectly selected to meet our criteria. They taught us the highlights to look for as well as the concerns with each home to watch out for and finally, after the full year of hardship, they helped us land our dream home! While they have been nothing but professional, Kathy and Michael made it feel more like we were going through an accommodating and warm process with friends in place of a cold and highly competitive business transaction. Indeed, we now consider them friends after how well they treated us! ~4/11/2013

*********

My husband and I had been looking for a home for over 6 months and had come close to just giving up when we were fortunate enough to find Kathy and Michael. They know the area inside and out and were able to make the home buying process a pleasure from writing the offer all the way through inspection and closing.

There are so many details that need to be taken care of by a professional and we could not have asked for a better team to help up through the entire process. ~3/20/2013

*********

I can't say enough wonderful things about Michael and Kathy Rain. This was our first home purchase and they gently walked us through the process. Their knowledge of about homes and home purchases is pretty impressive. There wasn't a question that I asked, and there were a lot of questions, that they couldn't answer. It was very comforting to know we were being well taken care of. ~2/27/2013

********

Kathy was my lead realtor. We hit it off immediately. She didn't waste my time - really listened to what I was trying to find. And I did! Closed escrow on a great place in a beautiful area. Michael had incredible knowledge about the structure and inspection phases. I highly recommend Kathy and Michael! ~7/7/2012 

*********

We have worked with Kathy & Michael both as buyers, and as sellers, and we could not be more impressed and happy with both experiences. They are knowledgeable, pragmatic, motivating, and have the absolute utmost integrity. As first time buyers we were well educated about the buying process and contract terms, and communicated with and supported at every step. Years later, as sellers, we had the same experience and it was a pleasure to once again work with them. There is no question in my mind that if we purchase again in the area, we will call Kathy & Michael!  BUYER & SELLER ~7/7/2012

*********

It was a pleasure to work with the Rain team. Kathy and Michael are high-energy, fun people. But what you really need to know is that they have the whole package: years of local knowledge and experience, great contacts in the industry, good backup from their broker. I have worked with the Rain team on both sides of real estate transactions. In each case, Kathy and Michael were professional, courteous, realistic, results-oriented, and creative in working out solutions to those minor glitches that are an inevitable part of such a complex transaction. If you are selling your place, the Rains will get you top-dollar. If you are purchasing, they will make sure you get want you want for a price that is fair. ~11/19/2012

*********

My husband and I recently sold our house in the East Bay and were very serious about finding an ocean-view home on the San Mateo Coast. Kathy and Michael Rain came highly recommended and we couldn't have been more pleased with our experience with them! Besides being highly responsive, reliable and personable, they truly know the coastal market. They are true insiders. We saw houses before they were coming to market, they knew all the particulars of the climate and its effect on homes, and when we were with them everyone in the area seemed to know them. Because of Kathy and Michael, we were able to find our new home in very short order. We recommend them without hesitation! And, we've found two new friends on the coast. ~11/4/2012

********

My experience with Kathy & Michael Rain has been fabulous! My real estate transaction was very tricky and difficult, but they managed to help close the deal in record time! I really thought I would not be able to close on my new home, but they made it happen. Absolutely awesome agents! The very  special thing about these two people is that they are not only real estate agents, but incredible human beings who are passionate about their profession and truly care about their clients best interests, which I find to be rare in the real estate world. Another rare quality is that they both worked so diligently hard on completing the transaction for me and my family, which can be seen with the excellent follow through on every detailed item that fell in their path. They shared with us an incredible amount of knowledge about the area and real estate that made us feel prepared and well informed as first time homebuyers. We felt comfortable and taken care of in our first home buying experience. I highly recommend Kathy & Michael Rain to all my family, friends, and coworkers, and would definitely use them again!  ~12/2/2012

*********

Michael and Kathy are definitely experts in their field. They understand the market. They are able to look at a property and assess its needs, value, and potential. They are patient and hard working. They have worked with me to make sure that any property shown perfectly meets my needs and exceeds my expectations. ~4/19/2011

*********

Michael and Kathy know what they're doing! As first-time homebuyers, they've been amazing helping us navigate through what could be an incredibly overwhelming process. They keep us informed on all the details so we don't feel in the dark about anything. Michael and Kathy are professional, yet incredibly warm and they are passionate about what they do. If you're looking for help to buy or sell on the coast, the Rain's are your best choice! ~4/4/2011

*********

 

Last Spring, my husband and I put our home up for sale in the hopes to purchase our dream home. The decision to do this was sudden and maybe a little crazy given the economic climate, but we knew that this was our chance to take a leap. We are writing to share with you that we were able to take this leap with confidence, only with the help of Michael and Kathy Rain. Their dedication, professionalism and expertise is the reason we are living in our beautiful new home and we would like to acknowledge and commend them for their ceaseless efforts to make it all happen.

Michael and Kathy sold my husband his first house and he was so happy with this first experience with the Rains that when I saw my dream house for sale, there was no question as to who would represent us in the sale of our house. Selling a home, as you know, can be extremely stressful; selling your home during an economic recession magnifies that stress ten-fold. Fortunately, Michael and Kathy made this extraordinarily taxing process seemingly painless for my husband and me.

Kathy and Michael were always available to us. We were so grateful for their dedication to their job. They worked tirelessly with such enthusiasm, delight and optimism. All of our questions were answered promptly and when we began to feel overwhelmed, they calmly reassured us. The paperwork was effortless thanks to Michael and Kathy’s extensive knowledge and understanding of the material.
 
We were extremely pleased with the service that Michael and Kathy provided during such a stressful, yet exciting time. What a rare opportunity to work with such devoted, consummate professionals. Words cannot express the gratitude we have for Michael and Kathy for selling our house and getting us into our dream home.

*********

Both Kathy and her partner/husband, Michael are very knowledgeable on the local real estate market. They are responsive and know how do get the deal done. They provided very good negotiating advice as well. ~10/3/2011

 

 

======================================================================

Seller Testimonials

 

Michael and Kathy Rain are hands down the best team in real estate. We met them five years ago when we were looking to sell our first home in Daly City and buy a house on the Coast. They expertly helped us to navigate both the sale and the purchase. Our house sold after being on the market for 12 days, and after receiving multiple offers. When it came to buying, they are so knowledgeable about the Coastside area and shared what they knew so that we could make an informed decision in purchasing a house here. It was clear that they cared about us and wanted us to find a place that was right for our family. Ultimately, with Michael and Kathy’s assistance, we bought a beautiful house in Moss Beach. We loved every minute of the five years that we spent there, and only decided to sell again because we relocated out of the area. Again we looked to Michael and Kathy to guide us through the process of selling our house. This time things had changed pretty dramatically – the local market was low, and selling was a challenge. As always, Michael and Kathy came through – holding our house open every week until it sold and negotiating expertly when it came down to it. We trust them completely and cannot say enough about the time and attention and kindness and expertise they showed us throughout each of these real estate adventures. We highly recommend this team to anyone who is in the market to buy or sell!!

********

After interviewing several realtors we chose Kathy & Michael Rain to sell our Pacifica home. We were impressed with their initial presentation and never disappointed through the entire process. They did their homework to determine the right asking price, which was well over other realtors estimates, produced beautiful brochures, listed the property on every website possible, and held open houses until we sold. Michael also walked us through the legal side of the process and has the experience & expertise that made us feel at ease. We knew that the price point for our large home was above that of the typical smaller homes in the area and would extend the marketing time, but it was worth the wait with the full price offer we received. Although several agents approached Kathy with lower offers, she was always ready with comps and a very logical argument supporting our price point. We truly feel that using the Rain team got us the best price for our home and would recommend them to anyone considering selling their home.~ Roxanne M 11/3/2017
 

********

I am sure no one in the Bay area questions why the Golden State Warriors are consistent winners. Team work, team work, and more team work. Kathy and Michael Rain are the best realtors we have ever experienced in over 25 years of living on the the Peninsula in the Bay area. Kathy is the darling of  details and Michael is a master of a full court press when closing a deal. This husband and wife team really care about your future, will not ethically proceed with any sales unless they feel secure with the negotiations, and offer extend help with all issues when needed. They are a slam dunk couple who is fun and easy going yet serious with their work. We are so fortunate to have had access to their knowledge and experience and now have them as our friends. They are top scorers in our book and the reigning real estate champions in this area! ~6/19/2017

********

I asked their help in selling my condo on Terra Nova in Pacifica, WOW. They went above and beyond, they made suggestions for how to make our Condo more presentable, and they were right. Changing some things to make light different and all, and BAM, we started getting nibbles and a sale. During the weeks we were doing showings, Kathy would arrive early, if she saw something I missed she would point it out or help. "The hall needs sweeping! It will just take a minute, and it's the first thing people see!" SO helpful, They sat down with me and explained every step, I got phone calls on a regular basis with updates; "We've So that means we will next and that should make the next step faster! Any questions?" Amazing. Considerate! Oh MY! Considerate is the word. Not the first time I have changed houses, but this time with the Rain-Team, was the most pleasant and fastest. (Oh, and we got more than the asking price, they also made arrangements for me to stay in the place an extra month-so I could finalize the purchase of my new house. Will recommend them to everyone I know.!)-~ 3/3/2017

********

Kathy was awesome throughout the whole experience. She was a great help coordinating with various company's to get the necessary repairs done, so we could sell my Mom's house. We sold for full price during a stressful time in our lives. Kathy knew the local market and helped us stage the house. I  can't say enough about what a great experience we had from listing to close of escrow. -Seller ~2/19/2017

********

 

The Rain Team was not only above and beyond in professionalism, they connected with us personally, and understood our needs and wants in all aspects of what was an important and very "close to our heart" event in our lives. They walked us through every step, event, and part of the process, and executed with what seemed to be mastered precision. ~4/12/2016

*********

We found Kathy and Michael Rain to be extremely knowledgeable and scrupulous professionals, and delightfully charming people. Kathy has a deep insight into the Coastside real estate market, allowing her to fairly value homes in a unique area, while Michael's understanding of common coastal environmental issues allowed him to minimize any procedural snags. Together they helped us receive an excellent sales price for our home, despite bringing it to market at a slow time of year. As buyer's agent, they facilitated the purchase of our new home under a very tight timeline. We heartily recommend the Rain Team, and would absolutely use them again. ~ 4/30/2016

*********

The Real Estate team of Michael and Kathy Rain made the complexity of selling two vacant lots, from the time of listing them, to the moment of closing the Sale just a few months later, easy on us! They knew what needed to be done every step of the way! We feel truly fortunate to have had the Rain  Team on our side throughout the entire process and can recommend their commitment and experience to anyone seeking to buy or sell Real Estate! -Seller ~9/29/16

*********

Michael and Kathy are the best there is -- completely knowledgeable on every aspect of the transaction and able to put that expertise to use at every step along the way. They are focused, communicative and in absolute command of the details, and they generously share their wisdom. And on top of all that, they're thoroughly fabulous people -- enthusiastic, patient, honest and utterly trustworthy. It's rare to have folks in your life you can count on so completely. It's even rarer to find them in a stressful personal/business situation like a home sale. Kathy and Michael are those folks.  ~10/29/15

*********

Kathy and Michael have more than 20 years of experience in this area. They were able to tell me what I needed to do to the house. Kathy assisted me in completing forms with much patience and told me her expectations as far as staging the house and how to prepare to show the house. They are as  helpful as you wish them to be and guide you through the whole process. I would highly recommend them. If you are elderly and giving up your beloved home, they are understanding and will guide you. ~ 3/31/2015

*********

I met Michael Rain six years ago at an open house. His practical knowledge and consideration for clients was immediately apparent, and I determined to ask him and his partner Kathy to be my agents should I ever want to sell my home in El Granada.

When that time came, I called Michael and  Kathy and they immediately took charge, walked me through the disclosures, got all the problem areas in my house fixed, started planning the staging, and then—surprise of surprises, told me they had a client looking for a home just like mine! Their buyer came to look at it and made an offer the very same day—exactly the price I wanted, with no hassles and no contingencies! We closed in just three weeks, and I couldn’t have done it without the expert knowledge and guidance, connections and detailed follow-up that Kathy and Michael provided every step of the way. In addition, they are such nice people and such a pleasure to work with—smart, considerate, thoughtful, efficient, and thorough. I am now happy to count them among my friends.

If I ever have the good fortune to buy on the Coast again, there’s no one else I’d rather use. I recommend that you see what they can do for you! ~2/27/2015

*********

We thank you two for all you did for us---over three years you never lost your patience or got upset with our frequent calls and questions. To top it off, you got a nice price for our house and we were very happy to work with you.

*********

As a professional in the commercial real estate business for over 30 years, I was asked by a friend to manage the process to assist her elderly mother through the listing and sale process of her home in El Granada.  Being from Baltimore, Maryland, I searched the internet for local realtors, found several, conducted phone interviews and concluded that Kathy Rain and her team were the best fit for this transaction.  I  strongly recommended Kathy Rain and her husband to my friend's mother. It was the best decision for many reasons; Kathy's professional experience and skill in effectively transacting residential real estate in the El Granada, Half Moon Bay region, her pleasant demeanor, her knowledge and confidence throughout the process especially working with an elderly client transitioning into assisted care facility while keeping me continually informed throughout every step of the process.  I strongly recommend that if you are considering the purchase or sale of real estate in that market, Kathy Rain and The Rain Team are your new secret weapon.  Here's the best part, from listing date to settlement date was 13 days and it sold for over the asking price.  Needless to say, all parties were delighted in the result. ~3/24/15

*********

Kathy and Michael are experienced, knowledgeable, thoughtful and kind realtors. They are as helpful as you wish them to be and guide you through the whole process. I would highly recommend them. If you are elderly and giving up your beloved home, they are understanding and will guide you. ~ 3/22/2015

*********

I listed a house with Michael and Kathy Rain in what can only be described as a difficult market. They provided expert advice...and I followed it. I had an offer in less than 30 hours and closed in less than 30 days!

Michael and Kathy are professional, knowledgeable -- particularly about the San Mateo coast -- and are generally wonderful to work with. They worked very hard to understand my needs and what was important to me in the sale of my house. Their assistance with all the paperwork -- from disclosures to being there for the signatures on closing documents -- was exemplary

I would definitely recommend them to potential buyers or sellers on the San Mateo Coast. ~10/3/2011

*********

Michael and Kathy have lived in the area they represent for many years. They have deep local knowledge through experience.

My home sold promptly for a significant price above asking. The market assisted in this outcome but without their negotiation skills, I would have settled for over 30K less.

I did not have to question ever whether all documents were completed and their authenticity. I was confident in their process to identify and complete all documents according to California Real Estate Law.

Overall, I give Michael and Kathy a very high recommendation with regard to their expertise, service and negotiation skills. Very professional, yet caring husband and wife team.

It's hard to put our gratitude for Michael and Kathy into words for helping us purchase our first home. We put an offer on a short sale, which turned out to be one of the most complicated processes we've encountered. We had a unique situation to deal with - me being pregnant and going on maternity leave midway through the whole process. But Kathy kept us apprised of each step along the way so we never felt in the dark. She was so responsive to all our queries and concerns.~6/10/2013

*********

Tom and I did our research for the “right” realtors.   We were fortunate and came across Kathy and Michael’s website.  We arranged for a meeting and immediately knew they were the ones for us!!  We connected and signed on the spot.   They know their business.   They have connections for local handymen, painters, plumbers, electricians which are readily available to them.   We moved so fast and efficiently with the guidance and expertise of Kathy and Michael.  In one and half months we fixed up and sold the house.   Unbelievable!!!   We are so grateful to the Rain Team!!  We HIGHLY recommend them for your Pacifica and coastal real estate needs…~8/28/2014

*********

When we first met Kathy and Michael Rain all we knew about the area was that we liked going to the beach there. We quickly benefited from their expertise on the Half Moon Bay area, real estate contracts, and negotiation. They made sure of that. The Rain Team runs a client focused and highly  ethical business, which was very important to us. It became very clear they care about their clients. They helped us think through our purchase and because of them we found a home that met all our needs and wants. They navigated us through some unique circumstances and we knew we were in good hands. They even gave us some good ideas for the renovations. Fast forward 15 years and who were we going to call to sell our home, The Rain Team. Kathy is amazing at helping stage a home for sale, which is key to finding a buyer. When you engage Michael and Kathy you are getting the best of the best. No one runs an open house like Michael. In a blink of an eye they got our house in contract. Their service did not stop there. They represented us thoughout the ongoing negotiations expertly and we closed on time. I would recommend Michael and Kathy Rain to everyone with great confidence. Buying and selling a home is a business transaction and also an emotional experience. Throughout the process we felt like the buying and selling transactions were being carefully and expertly managed and we were being guided through the process with our interest front and center. We got our asking price and the only sad thing is that we moved out of the area. I've bought and sold many homes and have never had Realtors like Michael and Kathy Rain. Our suggestion is check them out before even thinking about using another agent. Professionals like The Rain Team need to be rewarded so they can keep helping people like us find a good home and sell a home when life moves you on to the next adventure.~6/2/2014

*********

When we chose Kathy and Michael as our buyer agents, we were looking all over the peninsula. Luckily, after visiting their office in Half Moon Bay and seeing some other listings on the coast, we fell in love with the idea of buying in a coastal community and are indebted to them not only for  guiding us through every step of the buying process (as first time home buyers without a clue, this was extremely important to us) and for finding us the perfect place (a townhouse in Pacifica, as it turned out) but for turning us on to the coast to begin with. We couldn't be happier with the location and incredible value of coastal living, especially when we saw what our budget could buy us in, for example, San Mateo. Michael gave us the ins and outs of what could go wrong, and made us feel comfortable that he would never let us buy a place with major flaws. Kathy handled our transaction with the seller's agent smoothly. Both were genuinely excited for us when our offer was accepted and treated us like family throughout the whole process. They are extremely knowledgeable about the neighborhoods on the coast and all things real estate. They are also warm and wonderful to work with! ~8/21/2014

*********

Kathy and Michael guided us through the entire process beginning with recommendations on improvements and repairs, then working with us on coming up with the optimal asking price. Their expertise enabled us to sell our house within 30 days, which helped reduce the pain associated with selling a house. ~8/13/2014

*********

We were selling our home in a tough market for sellers,despite this we sold the house fairly quickly and we think that the reason is that Mike and Kathy show their clients properties in open houses every weekend.Lots of work for them but hugely beneficial for a seller.I had total confidence in their advice throughout.I would recommend them unreservedly. ~1/23/2012

*********

It was a pleasure working with Kathy & Michael as they really go the extra mile for their clients. I would highly recommend working with them if you need to buy or sell a home.  SELLER & BUYER ~7/4/2013

*********

Michael and Kathy did a great job helping me to sell my house , I'm living in Portugal any help i need they were all the time there to do it for me. Thank you very much, Michael and Kathy ~10/22/13

*********

The Rains were strongly recommended to me, by a friend who is a realtor, when I inherited a distressed rental property. They were insightful in helping me sort out the alternative paths for preparing the property for sale; the vendors that they brought in for renovation were highly competent, reasonably priced, customer-oriented, and met a very tight timeline. Michael Rain is very knowledgeable about assessing the structural/physical condition of homes, and was invaluable in helping me navigate the intimidating legal disclosures process; Kathy has an excellent grasp of the local market conditions and was terrific at marketing the property. They paid attention to details and made sure nothing slipped through the cracks. They are warm, enthusiastic, energetic, competent, and well-connected within the community. The listing & selling process went far more smoothly and quickly than I had thought possible. ~12/4/2012

*********

Michael and Kathy were 100% on it from day one! I really liked their strategy for selling my condo which sold within two weeks of going on the market. Their recommendation to get my own inspections and disclose the reports up front was very smart. Will be using them when I buy my next place. ~11/19/2012

*********

Best Agents ever. They work very hard and understand the local market from top to bottom. Kathy and Michael were able to get us multiple offers above asking price in less than 2 weeks in part due to Kathy's expertise in staging. Michael's strict attention to the contracts and inspections proved to be another part of the successful transaction. Their attention to detail is unsurpassed. The communications between us and with Kathy and Michael was prompt, clear and concise. You will not work with better agents. ~6/20/2013

*********

We interviewed several real estate agents, and chose Kathy Rain for 2 reasons: (1) her (and her husband Michael's) expertise in coastal real estate, and (2) Kathy and Michael's honesty, integrity, and warm personalities. Specifically, Kathy was the only agent we interviewed who informed us about a law that had passed a few years ago that pertains to coastal properties with well water. No other agent even mentioned this new law to us. When you hire Kathy, you get two for the price of one because you also get the benefit of Michael's expertise. Michael was right on the money when he recommended a listing price for our home. They call themselves "The Rain Team." We call them "The Rain Makers!!" ~8/1/2014

*********

It was a pleasure to work with the Rain team. Kathy and Michael are high-energy, fun people. But what you really need to know is that they have the whole package: years of local knowledge and experience, great contacts in the industry, good backup from their broker. I have worked with the Rain team on both sides of real estate transactions. In each case, Kathy and Michael were professional, courteous, realistic, results-oriented, and creative in working out solutions to those minor glitches that are an inevitable part of such a complex transaction. If you are selling your place, the Rains will get you top-dollar. If you are purchasing, they will make sure you get want you want for a price that is fair.-SELLER & BUYER ~7/4/2013

*********

This is my 6th transaction with Kathy and Michael Rain - buys and sell transactions. As always they are responsive, professional, innovative, problem solvers, and very thorough. They ensure that my rights and needs are protected and addressed. They work with me and the opposite party to ensure that the deal is done smoothly and everyone walks away with what they need. Their knowledge of the coast side is unsurpassed. In all their years on the coast side, it is most probable that they have been in nearly every property on the coast and know its pros and cons. They listen!!!! They act to fulfill my agenda, keep me informed timely, and give me information for me to make decisions. Service of the highest and best quality. SELLER & BUYER ~5/22/2013

*********

Kathy and Michael Rain are the kinds of agents who seem to know about every single property on the market. In their case, it's because they've probably helped someone buy or sell nearly every house on the coastside. In my case, they were the listing agents when I bought my house, and I chose them  to be the listing agents when I sold it. I was very busy when I was preparing to list the house. Kathy and Michael provided excellent contacts for the painter, contractor, and gardener. As soon as I got the house listed, I was traveling full-time, but I had full trust in Kathy and Michael to do everything in my absence. They were professional, thorough, energetic, friendly, and entertaining to work with. I will be using them again when it comes time to sell my other property in the area, and would recommend them to anyone.~4/11/2011

*********

 

Last Spring, my husband and I put our home up for sale in the hopes to purchase our dream home. The decision to do this was sudden and maybe a little crazy given the economic climate, but we knew that this was our chance to take a leap. We are writing to share with you that we were able to take this leap with confidence, only with the help of Michael and Kathy Rain. Their dedication, professionalism and expertise is the reason we are living in our beautiful new home and we would like to acknowledge and commend them for their ceaseless efforts to make it all happen.


Michael and Kathy sold my husband his first house and he was so happy with this first experience with the Rains that when I saw my dream house for sale, there was no question as to who would represent us in the sale of our house. Selling a home, as you know, can be extremely stressful; selling your home during an economic recession magnifies that stress ten-fold. Fortunately, Michael and Kathy made this extraordinarily taxing process seemingly painless for my husband and me.


Kathy and Michael were always available to us. We were so grateful for their dedication to their job. They worked tirelessly with such enthusiasm, delight and optimism. All of our questions were answered promptly and when we began to feel overwhelmed, they calmly reassured us. The paperwork was effortless thanks to Michael and Kathy’s extensive knowledge and understanding of the material.


We were extremely pleased with the service that Michael and Kathy provided during such a stressful, yet exciting time. What a rare opportunity to work with such devoted, consummate professionals. Words cannot express the gratitude we have for Michael and Kathy for selling our house and getting us into our dream home. SELLER & BUYER

*********

I still have to pinch myself sometimes to remember I’m not dreaming. Yes, it’s really true, I remind myself. The Rain Team sold my house in a very short period of time and at a terrific price. A huge burden has been lifted off me. I can finally get on with my life, with money to do things I wasn’t able to do before.

I look back now and remember that it was only a few short months ago – before signing on with you – that I had pretty much despaired of my house ever selling. I had a realtor, and the property had been listed since September 2008. But there weren’t any buyers in sight. In fact there weren’t many people that were even interested. Oh, there was a website and there had been a couple of open houses. But they didn’t draw much attention. I can still hear the words of the previous realtor: “You have to remember that your house just isn’t very attractive from the outside.” Great. If the person who was supposed to be selling my house wasn’t impressed with it, how were they ever going to convince someone else to buy it?

I was really discouraged. To make things worse, the house was at the end of a cul-de-sac and there was no through-traffic to see the For-Sale sign. People told me I would have to just be patient, wait a year or more. But I didn’t have the luxury of being able to wait. I needed to sell the house soon.

I was very despondent that late Saturday afternoon when I leafed through the Half Moon Bay yellow pages real estate section. Your ad for The Rain Team caught my eye and I decided to call. Little did I dream that things were about to change for me…

The first time I met the two of you I was immediately impressed by your sincerity, honesty and the enthusiasm you showed about selling the house. It was obvious that you wanted the best for me and were going to work very hard to see that I got it. Finally, there was someone in my corner. I signed on with The Rain Team and I am now proud to say it was one of the best decisions I ever made.

Kathy, you understood I was on a tight budget. And yet working within the constraints of that budget you had small changes made to the outside of the house that immediately and dramatically increased curb appeal, in a very big way. I didn’t have the funds for staging, but using a few items of your own, you brought color and personality and dramatically improved the interior. When I saw your beautiful photos on the website you created for me, I couldn’t believe my eyes. When I compare the previous realtor’s website pictures with the gorgeous ones you took, the only way I can explain the difference is – it was like comparing a DMV license photo with a portrait by a professional glamor photographer.

Michael, I cannot begin to thank you for the tireless effort, energy and enthusiasm you put into selling the house. You handled everything for me, from talking to contractors and repairmen and attorneys, to taking the time to explain all the papers I was signing (I learned so much it was like a seminar!) to overseeing the most basic hands-on work. I will never forget the windy day that you were coming down with a cold, and there you were, standing on an 8-foot ladder cleaning the gazebo windows because a prospective buyer was coming to look at the house! You did innovative things that other realtors in the area do not, like setting up the “Talking House” program, enabling interested parties to park in the driveway and tune in their car radio and hear you tell them about the home. Whenever some kind of glitch would come up you were there, handling things graciously and with a sense of humor. And it really helped that you could make me laugh about things when going through the stress of selling a home!

Michael and Katy, you were always available. Whenever I called you would get back within minutes. You let me know it was OK to call anytime. It’s such a good feeling to know that finally someone is on your side. And, you were always quietly confident that the house would sell and in a reasonable time. You were so right. Your hard work and innovative marketing generated a lot of interest. A steady stream of people started coming – surprising in this economic climate. And then – The Perfect Buyer. In only a couple of short months. It is a dream come home for me. 

You know, I see a lot of ads on TV and in the newspaper for hundreds of different realtors. I’m so happy and proudly to say, I made exactly the right choice, I couldn’t have picked anyone better than Michael and Kathy Rain and I’m so glad I did.

*********

We have worked with Kathy & Michael both as buyers, and as sellers, and we could not be more impressed and happy with both experiences. They are knowledgeable, pragmatic, motivating, and have the absolute utmost integrity. As first time buyers we were well educated about the buying process and contract terms, and communicated with and supported at every step. Years later, as sellers, we had the same experience and it was a pleasure to once again work with them. There is no question in my mind that if we purchase again in the area, we will call Kathy & Michael! SELLER & BUYER ~6/27/2012

*********

We worked with Kathy and Michael both on the sale of our previous home, and the purchase of our new home. They were extremely knowledgeable about the market, helpful in getting through all the process issues, and very good at covering the legal issues. Because we bought the new home before we sold the old, there were some extra questions we had, and they handled those very well.

They were also very helpful in connecting us with very high quality people to do inspections and evaluations, and put us in touch with a very good mortgage banker (Opes), who provided an excellent loan package.

I highly recommend Michael and Kathy whether you are buying, or selling a house on the San Mateo coast. SELLER & BUYER

*********

My husband & I are very impressed with the professionalism of Kathy & Michael. They keep us up to date on every detail of our listing. They are fluent with all of the latest technology available. So far we have been totally impressed and very happy with the services they are  providing.

Kathy & Michael sold our home. They were the best Realtors we have every worked with - and we've worked with a lot! They are up to date on all of the technology available and use it. They are easy to talk to, informative, and a real pleasure. They always picked up the phone when we called and they called regularly with reports on the progress of the sale.

We were extremely pleased with the experience. ~3/30/2011

*********

I bought a home in Half Moon Bay five years ago and Kathy and Michael helped me. I'm a Realtor in Arizona, so I was able to evaluate their service, and I thought it was way above anything I had seen at home. Even more important, we stayed friends afterwards.

When I decided to sell
this
  year, I knew it would be a short sale, and I called Kathy. Sheand I worked together as partners through a very difficult process. She brought a buyer and got the house sold!!!

I love these Rains. Use them if you can.~3/30/2011

 

 

 

Contact Information

Photo of The Rain Team Real Estate
The Rain Team
CA# 01169588 | CA# 01125976 | CA# 01908304
248 Main Street, Suite 200
Half Moon Bay CA 94019
Michael: 650-888-6361
Kathy: 650-888-6903
Fax: 866-396-0207

Kathy and Michael Rain of Coldwell Banker provides real estate services in the San Mateo County, California area including the surrounding communities: El Granda, Half Moon Bay, Montara, Moss Beach, Pacifica and San Mateo. Search for homes in San Mateo County. We list and sell residential real estate, investment properties, vacant land, lots for sale in the San Mateo County, California area.

Licensed in the State of California

Kathy Rain - CA BRE# 01169588 | Michael Rain - CA BRE# 01125976 | Coldwell Banker - CA BRE# 01908304  

Email: therainteam@coastal-realestate.com
Cell Phone: (650) 888-6903 * Direct Phone: (650) 712-0411
San Mateo County Real Estate and Homes for Sale

Equal Housing Opportunity